Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

A range of Biological/Medical Science projects that need our help, such as: Rosetta, Ralph, RNA
Post Reply
UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 9319
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

Post by UBT - Timbo »

Hi all

Something that caught me out recently.

Rosetta now has some "rosetta python projects" which use vbox.

https://boinc.bakerlab.org/rosetta/server_status.php

And if you have had any issues with vbox in the past and do not want to receive these tasks, you have to dig deep into the Rosetta website to prevent your host(s) from receiving them.

Usually, one would do this by going to "Your account" on the Rosetta website and clicking on "Rosetta@home preferences" - but this doesn't work as there are no application options here. :-(

Instead you have to go to "view" Computers on this account and then for EACH host, you have to click on "Details" and at the bottom of each screen (for each host) there is a "Disallow" VirtualBox VM jobs option.

I don't know why they have chosen this route - most other project websites allow you to change the apps on the "Preferences" section and then you can add/remove hosts from home/work/school locations which gives you more control to run specific applications on specific hosts.

regards
Tim
Jeffers
Active UBT Contributor 15+ yrs
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Halifax, West Yorks.

Re: Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

Post by Jeffers »

I've had a few of these running and one thing that I've noticed is that the vbox stuff is quite processor hungry. Just one task and it's vbox front-end are taking >30% cpu each on my PC.
On a separate note, is SIdock offline currently? I've had no tasks and the logs show an error accessing reference site?
Image
UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 9319
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

Re: Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

Post by UBT - Timbo »

Jeffers wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:40 pm I've had a few of these running and one thing that I've noticed is that the vbox stuff is quite processor hungry. Just one task and it's vbox front-end are taking >30% cpu each on my PC.
Hi Jeffers

I've noted the same and this also happens with QuChem too. I suspect that the tasks have become more difficult to crunch and hence take more CPU time and resources.
Jeffers wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:40 pm On a separate note, is SIdock offline currently? I've had no tasks and the logs show an error accessing reference site?
According to BOINCstats here:

https://classic.boincstats.com/en/stats ... tStatsInfo

SiDock is still generating credits for tasks...have you upgraded your version of BOINC Manager recently?, as there was an issue where a security certificate went "out of date", which could be fixed via a work-around (although that is not required now as BOINC Manager put out an upgrade which sorted the problem out).

But if you didn't upgrade BM and didn't edit the config files (to invoke the work-around) then some project websites will stop you downloading tasks.

The latest version for Windows is 7.16.20

https://boinc.berkeley.edu/download.php

regards
Tim
Jeffers
Active UBT Contributor 15+ yrs
Posts: 1607
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Halifax, West Yorks.

Re: Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

Post by Jeffers »

I was on 7.16.11, I must have missed the latest upgrade notification.
Installed 7.16.20 now and all looks OK, no errors from SIDock anyway.
Image
UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 9319
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

Re: Rosetta now using vbox for new Python tasks

Post by UBT - Timbo »

Jeffers wrote: Tue Jan 25, 2022 12:49 am I was on 7.16.11, I must have missed the latest upgrade notification.
Installed 7.16.20 now and all looks OK, no errors from SIDock anyway.
Hi Jeffers

Excellent news. :-)

Here's the original article about the security certificate issue, in case anyone else has issues (which as noted above can be cured by installing the latest BOINC Manager):

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6840&hilit=edit

regards
Tim
Post Reply