Using CPUs and GPUs

A new section, dealing with the non-BOINC based Folding@home program and the various research tasks it runs.
Post Reply
UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 8781
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

Using CPUs and GPUs

Post by UBT - Timbo » Mon Mar 16, 2020 10:26 pm

Hi all

Another "newbie" type question:

I set up FAH and it is using my GPU at preent...but the CPU is not being used, even though I left one core free (as a trial) for FAH (the other cores are crunching SETI on BOINC).

Also, one does not seem able to be able to configure multiple-CPU cores...there doesn't seem to be a way of tweaking the program to just crunch (say) 2 FAH CPU tasks at once.

Any ideas?

regards
Tim

damienh
Active UBT Contributor 10+ yrs
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:16 pm

Re: Using CPUs and GPUs

Post by damienh » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:53 am

FAH seems to select different numbers of vCPUs depending on selection of light vs medium vs full. It’s possible to override this; find the ‘slots’ section in the configure menu. Edit the CPU slot and change ‘-1’ to the number of vCPUs you want it to use.

UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 8781
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

Re: Using CPUs and GPUs

Post by UBT - Timbo » Tue Mar 17, 2020 9:53 am

Damien Healy wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:53 am
FAH seems to select different numbers of vCPUs depending on selection of light vs medium vs full. It’s possible to override this; find the ‘slots’ section in the configure menu. Edit the CPU slot and change ‘-1’ to the number of vCPUs you want it to use.
:handgestures-thumbup: :text-goodpost:

Post Reply