BOINC Workshop 2021

Anything "BOINC" specific can be commented on here...such as Project news and announcements etc. Also: any problems with BOINC or maybe you have found something interesting, tell us about it. Chat about the various 3rd party client applications used for some of the projects such as optimised clients.
Post Reply
UBT - Timbo
UBT Forum Admin
Posts: 9122
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:00 am
Location: NW Midlands
Contact:

BOINC Workshop 2021

Post by UBT - Timbo » Sat Apr 17, 2021 12:11 pm

Hi all

This might interest some members - though it's too late to see the FIRST event, but hopefully it'll be on Youtube later.

edit: This is the link I've been sent for the YouTube presentations: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1YM32 ... S5b5gUJPyQ


Please join us for the 2021 BOINC Workshop (this year, online), the annual showcase for research enabled by BOINC, and an open forum to discuss the technology and community.

Three Wednesdays in April: 14, 21, 28. Learn more and register at https://www.boincworkshop.org/register

Learn, Discover, Participate, Build: BOINC Workshop 2021
3 Wednesdays in April: 14, 21, 28
starts at: 09:00 PST / 11:00 CST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET / 19:00 EET - 3 hrs
FREE + ONLINE

BOINC (Berkeley Open Infrastructure for Network Computing) is an open-source software — and community — that enables volunteers to donate spare processing power from their PCs, laptops, and phones, to power vital scientific and medical research.

Aggregated, these resources enable cutting edge research across mathematics, biology, physics, quantum chemistry, climate prediction and more.

The BOINC Workshop is comprised of three sessions. The first will showcase projects that using BOINC, highlighting the role of citizen participation in advancing scientific research. The second is a forum for BOINC projects to discuss the technology, their accomplishments in the past year, and technical needs moving forward. The third is an open-ended community discussion.

Who should attend?
The BOINC Workshop is for anyone interested in harnessing science, technology, and online community to advance knowledge and effect change.

(*Part of the workshop, “Tech Talks” and “Tutorials” will be focused on people running, or interested in running, BOINC projects.)

Where is the Event? How do I participate? Where do I sign up?
This year’s workshop will be online, via Zoom. Please register to get the event URL.


I’d like to present, who do I contact?
If you’d like to speak on any BOINC-related topic (science, technology, community), please register or contact us.

Can I watch a recording later?
We’ll be posting highlights to YouTube - but to participate in Q&A, and other interactive elements of the workshop, it’s best to join us live :)


BOINC Workshop 2019 presentations
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... Vc0zb8J76c

There have been recent updates to the BOINC Workshop website.
Go ahead and register if you haven't already. https://www.boincworkshop.org/register


Schedule
The World of BOINC. Wednesday April 14.

Come join the annual showcase of research projects using BOINC, and see what crowd-powered research is making possible today.

starts at: 09:00 PDT / 11:00 CDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST+IST / 18:00 CEST / 19:00 EEST

Est program duration: 3 hours

START Matt Blumberg Welcome + the day’s agenda

00:10 David Anderson BOINC Initiatives

00:40 Marcus Belcastro Review of active BOINC projects

00:55 Rytis Slatkevičius The Science Cloud

01:10 Bruce Allen Einstein@Home

01:25 Nils Høimyr LHC@home

01:40 David Wollom ClimatePrediction.net

01:55 Juan Hindo World Community Grid: COVID Research

02:10 John Clemens MachineLearning@home (MLC@home)

02:25. Ritu Arora TACC@home: COVID Research

02:40 Matt Blumberg Find.Bio + Charity Engine

02:55 Matt Blumberg Wrap up + look forward to next week


Tech Talks. Wednesday April 21.
If you’re running a BOINC project, please join us to discuss technical aspects of your project: accomplishments, goals, and needs.

starts at: 09:00 PDT / 11:00 CDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST+IST / 18:00 CEST / 19:00 EEST

Est program duration: 3 hours

START Matt Blumberg Welcome + the day’s agenda

00:10 Medha Atre Eydle AI

00:25 Mohanty Sharada AICrowd

00:40 Panel: "Issues for AI on Volunteer Computing"

01:10 Ritu Arora TACC@home

01:25 Andy Bowery CPDN

01:40 Vitalii Koshura BOINC Android

01:55 Nils Høimyr LHC@Home

02:10 Rytis Slatkevičius + Tristan Olive Charity Engine

02:25 David Anderson BOINC Development: Past year + draft roadmap

02:55 Matt Blumberg Wrap up + look forward to next week

Extra:

There are awesome additions to the Schedule for The 2021 BOINC Workshop.

Steven Clark from nanoHUB has been added to The World of BOINC presentations on April 14 (only 2 sleeps from now) and Max Ryabinin from Learning@home has been added to Tech Talks on April 21.

Vitalii Koshura - BOINC for Android, Steven Clark - nanoHUB (San Diego Supercomputer Center) and Max Ryabinin - Learning@home have been added to the Speakers List.

The agenda for Community Discussion + Tutorials on April 28 has not been posted yet but World Community Grid Tech Keith Uplinger has an exciting announcement for that day:

"I am planning on doing a tutorial similar to what I did in Chicago about setting up a BOINC server and running from scratch. My plan is to have it run on ubuntu 20.04 for ease of use for those to set it up."
regards
Tim

chriscambridge
Active UBT Contributor 1+ yr
Posts: 2142
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 1:56 pm
Location: UK

Re: BOINC Workshop 2021

Post by chriscambridge » Thu May 13, 2021 11:37 pm

By the way, Day 1 videos are now online at YouTube.
Image

Post Reply