Second GPU query

Having problems installing that new stick of memory? Found some great software or having issues with something? Or maybe want to chat about your PlayStation, X-Box, Nintendo, Sega, even your old Spectrum 48k....! Or maybe something you want to sell or acquire (computing related of course!). Let us know here...
Post Reply
Woodles
UBT Contributor
Posts: 11757
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: Second GPU query

Post by Woodles »

To define which GPU is used for each project, you need to modify your cc_config.xml file:

Code: Select all

<cc_config>
  <options>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    <exclude_gpu>
      <url>https://boinc.thesonntags.com/collatz/</url>
      <device_num>0</device_num>
    </exclude_gpu>
    <exclude_gpu>
      <url>http://moowrap.net/</url>
      <device_num>1</device_num>
    </exclude_gpu>
  </options>
</cc_config>
Don't forget that you're excluding a GPU from the project so that cc_config.xml will allow GPU 1 to run on Collatz and GPU 0 to run on Moo.

Mark
chriscambridge
Active UBT Contributor 1+ yr
Posts: 2178
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 1:56 pm
Location: UK

Re: Second GPU query

Post by chriscambridge »

I decided to join you Will..

Image
wkdwill
UBT Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:58 pm
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Second GPU query

Post by wkdwill »

Nice card :)

Don’t think that cc_config has worked, I applied it last night, checked that collatz was downloading ok, but on checking my stats today, no more credits on Moo, I’ll have to check over everything when I get home.
Image
Image
Woodles
UBT Contributor
Posts: 11757
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: Second GPU query

Post by Woodles »

Hi Will,

Did you have both GPUs in your system when you downloaded the Moo tasks? Some projects tailor their tasks to what's available when requested and you may find that any tasks already downloaded are marked as being for two GPUs and are waiting for the second GPU to become available .. ie, never.

Check in the Boinc manager view for the number of GPUs the tasks are expecting to be available.

Mark
wkdwill
UBT Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:58 pm
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Second GPU query

Post by wkdwill »

Hi Mark,

Yeah both GPUs were in the system when I downloaded, I edited the cc_config then shut down Boinc, restarted Boinc and aborted the tasks that were marked as 2 x GPU, then I hit update on Moo and left it to it, didn't check before leaving the house this morning, just checked now and all Moo tasks are marked as 2xGPU.
Capture2.JPG
I've checked the logs and this is the entry that states project GPU exclusion.
Capture.JPG
So it seems Moo is ignoring the cc_config?

Thanks,

Will
Image
Image
UBT - Mikee
Marvin the Dalek
Posts: 4395
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:00 am
Location: North Wales

Re: Second GPU query

Post by UBT - Mikee »

Hi

No - Moo will only run when the two cards are available. So if 1 collatz is running it won't run the Moo WUs as there is only one card available and Moo wants 2 free.

Mike
Follow us on Twitter... http://twitter.com/UKBOINCTeam

Image Image

Image
wkdwill
UBT Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:58 pm
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Second GPU query

Post by wkdwill »

Hi Mike,

Don't think I'm understanding this properly,

My understanding is I can set the cc_config so I can have Moo should run on my 1080ti and Collatz on my 1070 as the 1070 has the speed up code,
Moo still wants 2xGPU but if I suspend Collatz Moo won't run as it wants both GPUs, even if I abort those WU's and download new ones it still wants both GPUs, so in that case is there any point in my editing the cc_config? am I asking for something that is not featured in Boinc software?

Cheers,

Will
Image
Image
UBT - Mikee
Marvin the Dalek
Posts: 4395
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:00 am
Location: North Wales

Re: Second GPU query

Post by UBT - Mikee »

Hi

I did try the code myself earlier and had the same problem. The code would probably be ok for say Primegrid and Collatz, but as Moo sees and wants both your GPUs (uses 2 GPUs to process 1 Work unit) I can't see the config mod working.

Mike
Last edited by UBT - Mikee on Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Follow us on Twitter... http://twitter.com/UKBOINCTeam

Image Image

Image
wkdwill
UBT Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:58 pm
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Contact:

Re: Second GPU query

Post by wkdwill »

Oh well back to the drawing board it is then.

Thanks for your help :)

Will
Image
Image
Post Reply